Lull

I have been in a non-drawing mood for the last week.  This is unusual for me of late.  I see all of the drawing and painting supplies lined up all beckoning me to use them, but I have been distracted.  I just haven’t been able to sit down and focus on my art practice.

I want to get back to my daily painting routine.  I think to be connected to your work on a daily basis is very important.  To get too far from the picture of you creative life can easily slide to a bad habit of not being in the zone.

I am in the process of learning a language.  To create a fluency in my work I need to put in the hours and days to get closer to my goal of being a native.  I think sitting at your workspace everyday even if its to just to layout a new color palette or put a new layer into your painting even if it will get covered up is essential.  Or reading about art theory or an artist that I admire will help keep me in the realm that I desire to participate.

I think tonight I will sit and list a small series of goals that I would like to achieve in the next few months to help spur me on in my lull.  Some of the goals that I am thinking about are to:

become more fluent in painting 3/4 profile faces, finish a large scale canvas painting, gather inspiration in a notebook for my work, etc.

Even writing this post today has been a bit of a slog for me.  But pushing through it and just typing out where I am in my creative life today has helped me to see a few things more clearly and invite me back to my studio.

3 thoughts on “Lull

  1. Kez.Gutierrez says:

    I feel you, it’s really easy to get distracted a lot. But it’s okay! I think having little goals to achieve every day is a great way to get your mojo back. 🙂 For me, sometimes I need to GET OUT of my workspace and find inspiration outside. But what I found is even getting some fresh air is a great way to refresh and re-motivate you to get back to your goals and work. 🙂 All the best!

    Like

  2. Jeff Swesky says:

    Tonya, I’ve felt the same as you at times when I’ve had lulls in my writing practice. Sometimes life has a way of forcing us away from our passions. During those periods, it can be frustrating knowing that you want or need to be creative, but the inspiration (and/or time) just isn’t there. For me, I’ve eventually learned to accept these lulls, knowing that once the dust settles, I’ll return to my craft with a vengeance. And maybe even with some fresh perspective and new ideas. I think writing down goals is a great idea. Recently, I done so for my writing projects. It helps to be organized and get the goals down on paper, so they’re not constantly spinning around our brains, driving us mad! 😉 Love ya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

