Authenticity

On the first note I am truly learning about wordpress.  I accidentally trashed my first post for the day.  Not sure if any of you saw it!  I was trying to insert a piece of art work after the fact and just deleted the whole thing!  But my cousin Jeff is a life saver.  He just sent me the earlier positing and it is below.  I have also added a bit more commentary

I feel that I am just beginning my journey as an artist.  Yes I did go to art school many moons ago, and I am a graphic designer during the day.  But it wasn’t until recently that I picked up the paints and brushes again.  This past year has been getting to know my supplies and skills again.

Lately though I have been thinking about my own voice.

As the snow fell last night I watched Christy Sobolewski’s you tube video.  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYNXbuIXguM  She was talking about authenticity and it got me thinking about my own voice.

Finding your own voice no matter the medium that you are expressing is difficult to find.  But the key to finding your own voice is to be you.  Putting yourself out there on the page and being vulnerable with your art can be an exciting and nervous experience.

I am in the process of finding my voice.  What are the things that make me authentically me. What do I want to say with my art?

I am taking a lot of classes and seeing others work which can influence but inspire me.  When creating art you need to embrace  all the parts of who you are.  What makes me me?  Its going to be a process as I am looking at what makes me me.  I feel as if I am still in the learning process with my craft.

I don’t believe I have completely found my voice. And this could take years for it to come to fruition.  I am ok with this.  I like to draw and paint faces this is me.  I am going to see Matisse-the Cut-Outs this weekend.  He had a love of the sea and found a way to bring it to his art.  What are my loves and passions that I want to see in my art?

I also think there is too much emphasis in being totally authentic out there if you are a new artist.  If you are just learning the craft and especially if this is something that is just for you learning and copying from others is a time honored tradition in art.  In traditional art training you copy the masters.  While in art school I spent many a day copying the techniques and drawings from the masters.  It teaches you a lot. Do you like what you did?  Is the subject matter interesting to you? Its just as much what you like as what you do not.

Pablo Picasso said “Good artist copy Great artists steal”

What this means is that you steal a great idea or technique but make it your own. There is also a great book called

Steal Like an Artist by Austin Kleon

Its a snow day here in NYC.  We did not get the snow blast that was expected but the subways were shut down for the storm.  They are trying to get them up and going again.  Tomorrow it is back to normal, but I am taking advantage of today and up for some creativity.

One thought on “Authenticity

  1. Jeff Swesky says:

    I’m so glad I was able to help you preserve this post! 🙂 It’s a great one and very relevant to artists of all types. It took me years of practice to finally find my writing voice. I did my share of stealing (through mimicking voice and style) from my favorite authors to help me find it. Over time, with practice and dedication and a degree of talent, an artist’s voice will suddenly announce itself to the world. The nice thing is once you find it, it’s pretty damn hard to shake!

    Like

Leave a Reply

