Daily Painting

I am on a journey.  Not only to connect my friends and family with my artwork, but to also paint daily.  I recently picked up the book Daily Painting by Carol Marine.  She says that daily painting is not a literal commitment, but to paint often.  This keeps us in our studios and keeps the ideas going and keeps us from procrastinating.

I also read the blog by Julie Fei-Fan Balzer who advises to work in your art journal everyday and my teacher Christy Sobolewski always tells her students that practice, practice, practice is the only way to move forward.

Having a daily art practice not only improves your skills, but keeps you in touch with your artistic self.  Now everyday I am sure is not possible with work and other commitments, but I would like to strive for that goal.  Even if I paint 5 times a week I think that would be a great success.

Last July I tried painting everyday with my faces.  I wanted to improve my face drawing and it really helped.  Now there were days when it just wasn’t possible to get to my studio desk and that was ok.  Working at my craft often helped me to get better acquainted with my supplies and my technique.  I would not be where I am today with my art work if I had not just sat down and put the work into my art.

I have a ways to go to where I am satisfied with the art that I want to do.  I am really looking forward to Flora Bowley’s class tomorrow and discover the journey she is going to guide us through.

4 thoughts on “Daily Painting

  1. Jeff Swesky says:

    Your posts on art are resonating with me and inspiring me to look closer at my writing habits, Tonya. It’s interesting (but not strange) how the arts (painting, writing, music, etc.) have some many similar traits and habits (some good, some bad.) I’ve been saying for a while now that I need to get back into a regular writing habit (if not daily, at least consistent.) Thank you for sharing!!

    Like

    • cheekiemunkie says:

      I’m glad they are resonating. You know what its like. You put something out there and wonder if it is hitting the mark with what you want to communicate. It’s hard to fit it all in there (the creative process) with a daily life. Some days you just have to surrender to life and realize that you cannot get to your creative outlet and then on other days even if you just sit down for 10 minute and write or sketch out an idea for when you have more time it keeps the flow going.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jeff Swesky says:

        Well after reading and commenting on your posts, I turned to one of my projects and wrote for about 45 minutes. First time in a couple of months. So there’s definitely something to be said about artists inspiring other artists. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Jeff Swesky says:

    Reblogged this on Nothing Like We Imagined and commented:
    Okay, I promise to put some fresh content of my own here soon. But I wanted to share another post from my cousin, Tonya. This post, “Daily Painting,” has also inspired me. And since reading it, I’ve written something creative (not necessarily a lot, but something) every day….this is after a couple month hiatus. Although as Tonya says, it’s not about dedicating time to your craft EVERY day, necessarily, but just on a consistent basis. It’s important to stay in practice and keep the inspiration and creativity flowing. Thanks again for the inspiration, Tonya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

